Don’t Panic

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is the most remarkable, certainly the most successful book ever to come out of the great publishing companies of Ursa Minor. It is about the size of a paperback book, but looks more like a large pocket calculator, having upon its face over a hundred flat press-buttons and a screen about four inches square… It comes in a durable plastic cover, upon which the words DON’T PANIC are printed in large, friendly letters. This is not its story.

The buttons on WordPress are HUGE!!  It’s like it is targeted towards the over 60 market, when I can very well guess that most of it’s users are in the 16 to 30 range.

Actually, I wonder what they really are.  I read that the average age of a Mac user is 45.  Yes!!  “Mister I’m so cool I do mash ups all day” is actually 45 years old.

My Mom has a blog.  My Mother-in-law has a blog.  My husband and I set them up and trained the Moms how to use them.  Neither Mom has ever made a single post.  And even with the large friendly buttons here, I don’t think that will solve it for them.  They don’t know HTML and would run for the hills at the sight of it.

I’m not sure that the blogging tools care.  Because even if it was easy to post (And it is from Word 2007*) neither one of them would know what to say.

*Word 2007 and blogger didn’t work.  My Microsoft contact told me that it had worked all through out the beta but Google did something to break it just after they shipped.  Sigh.   I haven’t tried posting from Word to WordPress.

Leave a Reply

